Here I talk about cheese and spitting. Try to contain your excitement.

I saw my NP about a week and a half ago and I have a couple of updates:

I was pleased to learn that my diet and the Morinda Supreme capsules have helped my body start to heal internally, and I am trying my best to keep up with the food changes.  I don’t quite know what to call my diet.  Probably the “Can’t Eat That” diet sums it up best. This is difficult to do some days when I am just exhausted have nothing handy in the refrigerator to throw together and I know it would be so easy to call the pizza guy. 

Some days I stumble. My vices:  Red vines.  Margaritas.  Cheese.

 Oh, I miss cheese.

Especially when I am tired, or amped up with anxiety or knocked out by the summer heat on my drive home in my cranky car with the lukewarm AC.  And I slip knowing that I will very quickly start to feel even worse. 

I like to think it would be so much easier if I didn’t have an office to go to 40 hours a week, which is true, but it really boils down to being intentional with my time and planning ahead for days like that.  It may sound like an excuse, but maybe one of you reading will understand when I say that it’s hard to muster up extra energy to pre-cook freezer meals.  Of course, that’s if I remember in the first place.

I’m working on that.

This week I took a Saliva test to check for Adrenal Fatigue.  I actually have my wonderful husband to thank for advocating for me when he had an opportunity to speak with my NP.  He was able to share what he sees regarding my struggles and she listened to him! 

I love how he loves me.

I was already aware of this, but when I met with her in my appointment she explained that many of the symptoms of hypothyroidism and adrenal fatigue are the same and if there is adrenal fatigue there may also be underlying thyroid issues.  She said that a saliva test is the most accurate way to test hormone levels.  You can read more about why here.

She ordered a saliva test for me to complete and send to the lab.  It was very strange; I had to (literally) spit into 4 vials 4 times during the day: morning, noon, afternoon and midnight and then send it directly to the lab the next morning.  I am hoping these results won’t take as long as my blood tests.

 I have updated my Treatment page as well.  I have decreased my iodine and I am taking Vitamin C and Zinc. 

I take a freakish amount of supplements.

2 thoughts on “Here I talk about cheese and spitting. Try to contain your excitement.

  1. I am so excited to find this blog! I am going through all the same symptoms that you have mentioned. I have found one doctor out of the many that believes me even when all the other doctors test come back negative and they just give up. Im only at the beginning of trying to figure out whats going but its has helped me to know that I am not alone!

    • Hi, Mandy! Thanks for taking time to comment. I’m so happy you found my blog. You are not alone! I’m glad you are seeing other doctors. If you haven’t already, please check out the links to other pages on my blog. I know that Stop The Thyroid Madness has a “good doctor” list. Please keep in touch, I would like to know how you are doing.

Leave a Reply

