Waiter, there is too much pepper on my paprikash

…but I would be proud to partake of your pecan pie.
 

Chicken (shown here) or Pork Paprikash - photo credit: ashleynutrition

It is always a good sign in my house when my husband barricades himself in the kitchen with a second helping and won’t share with me!  Last night I made Pork Paprikash and it was delicious!  A great cold weather meal. 

I’m going to post this recipe because it really is worth sharing.  A good quality paprika is key; I was excited to use my Hungarian Paprika I got as a gift last year from a friend who spent part of last summer there. 

Here is the recipe:

Pork (or Chicken) Paprikash

Ingredients:

• 4 thin cutlets pork (or chicken breasts)

• 1/2 tsp salt

• 1 TBS butter or oil

Paprika sauce:

• 2 large onions, chopped

• 4 tablespoons butter

• 2 red bell peppers, chopped

• ½ lb peeled, chopped fresh tomatoes

• 1 ½ tsp sweet Hungarian paprika

• 2 cups beef broth

• ¼ cup cream

• 3 TBS flour (I used white rice flour)

Directions:

1. Sauté onion in butter until tender

2. Add red peppers, tomatoes and paprika and sauté for about 3 minutes

3. Add beef broth and simmer for 30 minutes

4. Mix flour with a little water to make a thin paste and stir into sauce

5. Stir to thicken sauce for about 3 minutes

6. Add cream and stir (do not boil)

7. Meanwhile, salt the cutlets and brown on both sides in butter or oil

8. Add a little water and braise, turning once or twice, about 5- 10 minutes until tender

9. Remove from heat

10. When sauce is finished, add the cutlets and heat for a few minutes; don’t let it boil

Serve with boiled or mashed potatoes or rice and a vegetable.  While your at it, watch “When Harry Met Sally” while you eat!



Leave a Reply

