Me vs Machine

A few weeks ago I mentioned that I purchased my first sewing machine, which looks like this:

My first sewing machine! I call her Ruby.

This was a big step forward in my quest to learn how to sew.  However, since then, I’ve felt like, “Okay, now what?”   It was a little intimidating to actually sit down and make things!  My only sewing experience prior to this was last winter when I made an apron under the care and instruction of my Mom.  Finally, after reading and re-reading the instruction manual and quizzing myself on the names of the different parts of the machine (yeah, I’m a little obsessive) and walking through JoAnn at least half a dozen times looking wistfully at fabric and patterns,  I finally decided to jump in with both feet and see what would happen.  How hard can it be, really? 

So, without further ado, I’m introducing my first solo sewing project:  The Buttercup Bag found at Made By Rae.  Here is my first completed Buttercup Bag, which I somehow managed to make in 6 hours (start to finish): 

I still can’t believe that I was able to make this by myself and that it actually looks like the picture!  The pattern includes darts,  a pocket and lining between the  two fabrics.  Definitely more complicated than a potholder!  This purse is a Christmas gift for my 4-year-old niece “Miss E”.  I am starting a second one for her sister, “Miss K,” using this fabric:

As pleased as I am with myself, I have to confess, it wasn’t all smooth sailing! I had a couple of false starts (okay, more like 50 false starts) when I had trouble threading the bobbin and the upper and lower threads and I became fast friends with my seam rippper through the course of the project, but I kept at it and figured it out with the help of my Mother- in- Law, Linda.

My goal is to be able to make clothing and tailor my own garments.  I’ve been reading a lot about re-fashion which I think it very cool and thrifty, like me (the thrifty part).  Not to mention, I have a lot of clothes I stopped wearing because: (a) I don’t like them anymore or (b) they don’t fit!  In order to do that, however, I will need a dressform. 

Once again, the thrifty side of me is intrigued by the thought of making my own dressform to my exact measurements. I’m going to recruit my Mom to help me and I plan to make a few modifications. I will be sure to post the results (good or bad).

For a free tutorial and pattern,visit Made By Rae, but kindly respect the terms of use!

3 thoughts on “Me vs Machine

  1. Wow, congratulations on a great first project with your machine!
    I just came across your blog (I think from magpie girl) and am inspired by this post. I too just got a new machine and I am feeling daunted. My first project will be a knitting needle holder – nice and rectangular! 🙂

  2. Thanks for your comment Rachelle! You can do it! Even though my blog doesn’t show it I’ve been busy this month and am learning a lot as I go. I’d love to hear how your project goes!

  3. I’ve just finished my knitting needle holder! The photos are on my blog if you’d like to have a peak. 🙂
    By the way, I should perhaps clarify, that although my name is Rachelle, and I mentioned Magpie Girl in my first comment, I am not the Rachelle who write Magpie Girl!
    Have you started another sewing project?

Leave a Reply

