I Met Myself

I Met Myself– by Ian Sawicki

I met myself,
reflections gathered
the dust of years,
smiled with hunger.

I listened,
with rapt attention,
to my mouth’s curves
speaking backward
to my captive eyes.

‘Open this life,
quench your thirst
with love,
beautiful heart.
Eat of this spirit.’

And so
I fed myself
promises,
laughed wine
down the front
of my feelings.

Loneliness faltered,
split hairs, ran across
the back of my neck.

I met myself
as I was leaving.

 

One thought on “I Met Myself

  1. Love you poems!
    I have grown to love poetry too!
    Missed you last (?) week?
    Wasn’t sure if you got lost or ran out of time…
    Hopefully, you can stop by another time!

Leave a Reply

