Hi, my name is Robin. I’m a blogging addict.

Hello…ello…ello…  Can anybody hear me?

Obviously, I never got around to completely disbanding this site!  Maybe I needed a break for a while but knew that eventually I’d have something to say.  Anyway, this blog is here to stay for now, and I’m finding there are still things interesting things to write about (at least they are of interest to me).

I’ve spent some time reading through old posts and I’ve come to realize just how much our lives have changed in the last year.  I miss Germany much more than I thought I would.  This time of year was always my favorite–there are so many festivals and Weihnachtsmarkt (Christmas Markets) to go to. 

Don and I are settling in to life in Idaho.  It’s been relatively easy for me since I grew up here.  Don is happier now that he’s achieved “resident status” and is enjoying Duck season and the search for his “sweet duck hunting spot.” 

We have also added to our pack this fall with two (yes, two) puppies Don is training to retrieve ducks from the water.  In late August we acquired our black Labrador Retriever, Chief (named after Don’s job as a Crew Chief in the Air Force) and just before my birthday in September we found Jed, a Chesapeake Bay Retriever.  You may think we’re crazy, but getting a second puppy actually made life in our home easier on Nook, Don and I because the puppies entertain each other! 

fall-2008-0031

fall-2008-030

fall-2008-0791

fall-2008-125

Nook is doing well, although at his recent senior check up at the vet we were informed that he is in the early stages of cancer.  This has been difficult for us to accept, but we knew that this was a risk when deciding to adopt an elderly dog.  We have not noticed any changes in behavior and health at this point, but we are aware of the inevitable and take Nook on walks along the Boise River (his favorite thing of all) whenever we get the chance.

fall-2008-219

fall-2008-223

fall-2008-233

Oh, and I got my hair cut. 

Haircut!

Stay tuned for future posts!

4 thoughts on “Hi, my name is Robin. I’m a blogging addict.

  1. I hear you, Robin. Welcome back to the world of blogging! You’ve been missed! Love the new haircut. The puppies and Nook are too cute! Sorry to hear about Nook’s health. You guys are great for adopting him and giving him a loving home.

  2. Robin Robin Robin, I’m hearin you cousin, Im pickin up what you’re puttin down! Sorry its taken so long for me to get back to you. Hopefully it wont be so long again. Also sorry about the page with all the negativity before, thats not really me. I have so many things I want to talk with you about! I will leave you my email address in the blanks and maybe we can chat sometime. From what it looks like you have quite a family building. Im not sure when you wrote this but it had to be sometime a little before 11/15/08, those pups must be getting quite large. Sounds like you have a handful. Well I love you and fam (Umcle Greg, Baby cousin Deanna, Aunt Joyce, and all the K-9s, Oh yea, and the Mr in your life, [gotta be a pretty good fella]) Im going to knock off for the night/morning

  3. Hi Nick! I’m so glad you found my little corner of the web. How is Florida? Warmer then Idaho, no doubt! I wish we lived closer and could spend some time together with all the family for the Holidays. I know that Grandma would be in heaven! Here is my email, I’d live to catch up with you: robinjriger@yahoo.com

    Merry Christms cousin! You are loved!

  4. Robin,
    Hi There.
    I love the pictures of all your babies. Sorry to hear about Nok. Send me an email address I would love to reconnect with you and hear all about what you and Don are up to.

Leave a Reply

