Here’s an even better potato dumpling recipe

One of the advantages to having a WordPress page is that it will track the number of visitors you have each day (and for some wild reason I had 205 visitors the other day-why?) as well as the search engine terms people used who visited your page.  Recently someone found my blog using the search engine terms “pleasant smells.”  I’m thinking that a previous post about Cologne, Germany has something to do with it.  Whatever the reason,  it has inspired me to write a blog (I guess I should be glad it was pleasant smells and not unpleasant smells). 

Some of the search terms are pretty funny, here are a few I’ve been collecting for a while:

  • put in a candy dish
  • pictures monks beer
  • wittlich “pig burners” festival
  • funny Christmas email forwards (what did I tell you?)
  • mustaches

And the most common term:

  • German potato dumpling

Since so many people find this sorry example of a blog looking for a recipe to make German potato dumplings, and because I am helpful, I feel it is necessary for me to post a much, much better recipe than the one I posted before here.  Word to the wise: DO NOT try that recipe, I did and it was a disaster. I’m thinking that some of the instructions were lost in the translation because they definitely didn’t look like this:
fest-resized-7.jpg

They started to dissolve when I put them in boiling water to cook like these bath bomb fizzy things:
  soap.jpg

I also couldn’t figure out how I was supposed to light baking soda (sulfur) on fire to keep the potatoes from turning purple from the starch (really, can you even imagine me trying to do this?  I’d probably burn all the hair off my head or something!).  It was all very disappointing for all the work I put into it.  Thankfully, I found a really easy and really good recipe that is Don tested and Robin approved.  I also found an excellent recipe for a white sauce that tastes just like the sauce in the first picture.  I added sauted onion and chopped ham to the basic white sauce recipe and it was awesome. 

Don and I’ve decided that a holiday tradition we will incorporate into our family is a German meal on Christmas Eve, this year we will be eating potato dumplings along with our favorite hefewizen Paulaner (beer).  A whole lotta carbs in that meal!

Here are the recipes thanks to All Recipes and the Recipe Zaar:

KARTOFFEL KLOESSE (Potato Dumplings)
Prep Time: 25 Minutes
Cook Time: 5 Minutes Ready In: 30 Minutes
Yields: 12 servings

INGREDIENTS:
9 medium potatoes, peeled
1 teaspoon salt
3 eggs, beaten
1 cup all-purpose flour
2/3 cup bread crumbs 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg

SAUCE INGREDIENTS:
1 cup butter
2 tablespoons finely chopped onion
1/4 cup dry bread crumbs

DIRECTIONS:
1. Place the potatoes in a large pot with enough water to cover. Bring to a boil, and cook until the potatoes are soft, about 20 minutes. Drain water, and place potatoes into a large bowl. Mash potatoes, leaving them slightly lumpy (just like making mashed potatoes). Mix in the salt, eggs, flour, 2/3 cup of bread crumbs, and nutmeg. Roll into walnut sized balls. If the dough is too sticky, you may want to mix in more flour or bread crumbs.

2. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Gently drop the dumplings into the water. When they come up to the surface, allow them to boil uncovered for 3 minutes. Remove the dumplings with a slotted spoon, and keep warm.

3. While you are waiting for the water to boil, melt the butter in a skillet over medium heat. Add onions and 1/4 cup of bread crumbs. Cook, stirring constantly, until the onions are tender, and the sauce has thickened some. Pour sauce over the dumplings before serving.

SAUCE FOR DUMPLINGS
4 servings
1 tablespoon butter
1 tablespoon plain flour
1/2 cup milk
1/2 teaspoon paprika

  1. Place the butter in a preheated saucepan and melt the butter down (on low heat).
  2. Once the butter is melted down add the plain flour.
  3. Stir well and cook the mixture of butter and plain flour which should go a bit lumpy and dry at this stage.
  4. Very important that you cook this well (2-4 minutes).
  5. Remove from heat and slowly, very slowly add the milk and stir in.
  6. The sauce should now be getting smooth.
  7. If it is lumpy you have been adding the milk to fast.
  8. Keep adding the milk until the desired thickness is achieved.
  9. Add the paprika for a bit of extra kick.

** I added 1 small onion finely chopped and 1 cup finely chopped ham sauted in 1 TBSP butter and added it to the sauce at the end.

2 thoughts on “Here’s an even better potato dumpling recipe

Leave a Reply

