We all scream for ice cream!

Have you heard the good news?  Today is National Ice Cream Day!

My favorite ice cream of all time (seriously since I was a kid) is Baskin Robbins Chocolate n’ Peanut Butter, my two favorite flavors combined.  I am very particular, it has to be chocolate ice cream with real peanut butter-   no exceptions.  I don’t eat ice cream very often, but when I do this is the flavor I prefer.  I’d have to say that mint chocolate chip and homemade strawberry or peach ice cream are pretty good too.

Since living in Germany I have enjoyed all sorts of pastries, brotchen (bread) and kuchen (cakes) from the local backeries (bakery’s), but my favorite of all is spaghetti eis (ice).  Don’t worry, spaghetti eis is not as strange as it sounds.  It’s simply vanilla ice cream made to look like spaghetti noodles with cherry or strawberry sauce and coconut sprinkles for parmesan cheese. Creative, but I’ve never really understood why you would make ice cream look like it should taste like something other than ice cream.

                                   spaghetti-eis.jpg

At most Eis Cafe’s I have been to you can also order ice cream made to look like a pizza, or spargel (white aparagus) and eggs, sunny side up, like the picture below.  Why?  I have no idea.  It’s Germany, what can I say?

                                                                               spargel-mit-eier.jpg                                                               

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 thoughts on “We all scream for ice cream!

  1. The spaghetti one doesn’t seem so bad, but the eggs??? I don’t know if I could eat that! I take that back. I am, after all, the reigning Fear Factor nasty jelly bean eater. I’d eat the egg ice cream if I had to compete! It would taste much better than the vomit and sardine flavored jelly beans.

  2. Yes, it would. You know, I may have to put that video on YouTube- that was so hilarious! I could handle the dirt flavor, grass, even booger and vomit…but the sardine flavored jelly bean did me in. You are my hero!

    Thank you for the picture of Randal, he is so precious. Are those blue eyes I see?

  3. I keep looking at this pictures of ice cream to see if they are melting! Maybe it’s because I’m so tired. Or, maybe it’s just me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

