If time could stand still.

grandpa-smith.jpg

My grandfather passed away last week after a long battle with cancer.  I am still here in Germany, my parents traveled to Arkansas to be with our extended family.  I am grieving this loss in my own time and way. I suppose that I am using this as an outlet to reflect and process his passing.   

I was looking through old photos today and came across the picture I included in this post, which happens to be the last photograph taken with my Grandpa Darrell.  I was 22 or 23 years old at the time, single ( I wouldn’t meet Don for another year I think) and working for Advent in San Jose, California. Earlier in the day I had suprised my parents and grandparents by driving (by myself) nonstop from San Jose, California to Stanley, Idaho so that I could see my grandparents while they were visiting.  I only had a 4 day weekend and decided spur of the moment that I wanted to spend it with them.  I knew that they were staying at the lodge outside of Stanley, but when I drove into to the parking lot I was informed that I had just missed them.  The gas station attendant said he saw them head into town, so I set out to find them.  I drove around town  (thankfully it is a VERY small town)  until I found my parents car.  My Dad and Grandpa were getting ready to leave for afternoon rafting trip on the Salmon River and were putting their life vests on when I walked up to my Dad and asked, “What’s going on?”  It was a really great suprise! 

I joined my Dad and Grandpa on the river that day and we had a wonderful time.  I had fresh salmon for dinner that night in Stanley, and on our way back to the lodge we stopped at Red Fish Lake.  I remember sitting on the dock at lake in the Sawtooths with my parents and grandparents enjoying the beautiful summer evening when we decided to take a picture.  Little did I know it would be the last picture I have with him.  Now I am so greatful for this memory, it was worth miles and hours I drove to get there.

I love you Grandpa, save me a place at the table.

Robin

Darrell Dean Smith
May 08, 1932 – June 05, 2007
Darrell Dean Smith, 75 of North Little Rock, AR went to be with the Lord Tuesday, June 5, 2007.Darrell was born May 8, 1932 in Des Moines, IA to the late Joseph and Sylvia Smith. Also preceding him in death was his brother Dale Smith.

Darrell is survived by his wife of over 50 years Mary (VonBon) Smith. Three sons, Gregory (Joyce) Smith of Mountain Home, ID; Dudley (Sue) Smith of North Little Rock; Duane (Nancy) Smith of Bryant, AR; twin daughters, Jennifer (Steve) Purtle of Farmington, AR; Jo Marie Smith of North Little Rock; 7 grandchildren, one great grandchild, several nieces and nephews and a host of friends and church members.

Darrell was retired from owning his business, Smith Brothers Construction in North Little Rock, Arkansas.

Rosary will be held at 6:30 p.m., Friday, June 8, 2007 at St. Anne’s Catholic Church, 6150 Remount Road, North Little Rock, AR.

Funeral service will be held Saturday, June 9, 10:00 a.m. at St. Anne’s Church with internment to follow at Griffin Leggett Rest Hills Memorial Park, 7724 Landers Road, North Little Rock, AR (501) 835-3515.

The family would like to extend their sincere thanks to all the doctors and staff at Springhill Baptist Hospital who cared for Mr. Smith.

In lieu of flowers, memorials can be made to St. Anne’s Catholic Church.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 thoughts on “If time could stand still.

  1. Thanks for your comment, Aunt Jo. I am praying for Grandma Mary and the family in this difficult time.

    Love,
    Robin

  2. So sorry about your grandpa. It must be difficult to be so far away from home at a time like this. Take a big hug! Barb

Leave a Reply

